Taking advantage of the downtime over the festive season, I went to Lanzarote for some winter sun. Not that I sit out in it much, but it’s nice to be warm for a change.  The only rule was, No Digital. So, along came two film cameras – one 35mm and one medium format rangefinder. What joy! Editing started before the shutter button was even pressed. With only 10 frames per medium format roll, being selective is a necessity.

Travelling between the major museums and galleries, up volcanoes, through villages, to the sea, gave a great variety of subject matter, but not what you would always suspect before visiting for the first time.

These are the kinds of shots I expected….

View from up a volcano, Lanzarote.

Lunar landscape at Timanfaya, Lanzarote.

These are the kind I hoped to get, as I prefer shooting people to landscapes, generally……

Old man, watching the goings-on in the market at Teguise, Lanzarote.

Two girls playing, Teguise, Lanzarote.

But my favourites of the week were completely unexpected…..

Artist's sculpture garden, Teguise, Lanzarote.

Close-up of Scary Dolly, artist's sculpture garden, Teguise, Lanzarote.

Freaky but fun!

