Stop Press!

My November cover for FSM magazine is now live  http://www.fsmmagazine.co.uk/

For tech-heads, this was the first outing (having only used them in my studio until now) of my portable Ranger Quadras, which are a joy to use in the field, having their own battery packs and being small yet powerful. They were swift to set up and, let’s face it, determining where you are going to shoot in an environment where you have not had the opportunity to recce the setting first, well, timing is of the essence! Given that speed was important, I chose to use two reflector brollies, though I do have softboxes which would have been an option if I had the time to set up earlier.

Tim Hammond, new MD of Elior, the contract catering company, was interviewed by Jane Renton, Group Editor, from FSM magazine, for the November issue.  It is a fascinating interview, covering the recent re-brand, his strategic vision for the company, and providing insight into what drives the man behind the company. For all marketing/consultancy/adheads, it is a worthwhile read and, I am guessing, not your usual trade title to peruse.

As a brand and advertising strategist (I’m not only a photographer, you know! In Adland I was a Planning Director and Strategy Partner for advertising and marcomms agencies) it was a thoroughly interesting assignment, over and above Tim’s being a delightful subject to photograph.

Further photographs of Mr Hammond, shot during the interview using available light, appear inside the magazine, accompanying the article.

