I had been waiting for this dress rehearsal/photocall for months, since I first heard that Phelim McDermott (Director) and Sean Gandini (Choreographer) were involved in its creation. Phenomenal innovators in their respective spheres, as well as tremendous originators, and collaborators, across genres, always meant this production was going to be special. And it is.

Although I was concentrating on conveying the excitement, emotion and beauty of the work, I couldn’t fail to be caught up by the heart & head, at the same time as the eye was occupied. You have to hear the music to really understand the whole, but here’s a visual taster – maybe it will persuade you to get a ticket whilst you can?

Special mentions to lighting designer, Bruno Poet (truly a visual poet!), costume designer, Kevin Pollard (I LOVE the dolls’ faces on the costumes – I only spotted them when I processed the pics – it’s genius!), and set designer, Tom Pye. Amazing visuals, All!!! Thank you!!

A plea to ENO – a production recording would be wonderful. I checked out the extant versions and they’re not a patch on what I experienced this week, live. Karen Kamensek (Conductor), you are a Force of Nature (and I’d love to do your portrait! Plus, you have an amazing team!) Thank you!!

 

 

 

