Hear, hear!

Zoe Berkeley

Dear Aylesbury High School,

Despite the fact you claim not to be censoring my A-level artwork by taking it down from display, this is in fact exactly what you have done (please find the definition of ‘censor’ below) by removing three items of underwear that form part of my Final Piece .

Censor

    verb

    1. examine officially and suppress unacceptable parts

However, firstly, I would like to thank you for doing this, as by removing components of my work that are deemed, “too sexual and inappropriate”, you have only served to reinforce the message of the piece; that women, including their underwear, are sexualised by society and that they need to cover up ‘appropriately’ in order to be treated with the same respect as their male counterparts.

Secondly, I would like to highlight some flaws in the reasoning behind the censorship of my artwork.

  1. I was…

View original post 606 more words

